Bleu Cheese Bread

When I first made it I thought I had made too much butter as I had a few tablespoons left. After pulling it out of the oven and cutting the loaf into pieces I found that some slices barely had any bleu-cheese butter on them. So if after you slather the bread with the bleu butter and you have any leftover go ahead and smear it all over the top. Or take what’s left and put it in a small bowl to spread with a knife. I also smeared it on grilled flank steak slices. Serves 8.

Ingredients:

One 12 ounce loaf of crusty French bread

1/2 cup of butter, softened

4 ounces of crumbled bleu cheese.

Directions

Cut bread loaf at 3/4 inch intervals, cutting to, but not through, the bottom of the load.

Stir together the softened butter and the cheese. I used a potato masher to mix up mine because I needed the butter to be ready before it had softened all of the way. Spread bleu butter on each side of a bread slice.

Wrap loaf in foil and place on a baking sheet.

Bake at 375 for 7 minutes of until toasted.  You may want to crisp it by removing it from the foil. Just don’t leave it in too long or you’ll have quite the mess on your hands.

Devour.

Source: unknown

Leave a comment