Brown Sugar Bacon

I kick off my first post in a while with an entry from Paula Deen. Instead of butter we’re worshiping at the altar of Paula’s other favorite ingredient…bacon. What I like the most about this recipe is the chili powder. A touch of salt with a wallop. I can’t wait to pop this into the oven and smell it all come together. Plus how can you argue with anything that is both breakfast and dessert?

On a side note I’ve been baking my bacon lately instead of pan frying it. It is crunchy and chewy, salty and not burnt. In the past I’d have pieces that were charred on one end and nearly raw on the other. Now I have crispy and crunchy bacon and that seems to be relatively greaseless. Now if only I could find a way to clean the inside of the oven.

Ingredients

1/4 cup firmly packed brown sugar

2 teaspoons chili powder

8 slices thick-cut bacon

Directions

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

Line a rimmed baking sheet with aluminum foil. Set a cooling rack inside the prepared pan and set aside.

In a shallow dish, combine the brown sugar and chili powder. Dredge the bacon slices in the brown sugar mixture and arrange the bacon on the rack. Bake in the preheated oven until crisp, about 20 minutes. Transfer to a serving plate and serve.

From: Food Network 

Leave a Reply

