Nutella-Mallow Pillow Pockets

Nutella is one of the foods that fit into my category of “WD-40 of the cooking world.” Shy of steak, I can’t imagine anything it won’t taste good on. O.k. I can imagine a few things it won’t taste good on. But I’d rather focus on what it tastes great on. 

Nutella is a tad tough to spread like margarine. When I work with it I often spoon it into a sandwich bag, cut off the tip and pipe it where I need it to go. I might try that with this recipe and then gently try to spread if around the dough. I’d also like to try to cut the dough down even smaller and make some bite-sized pieces.

(check out the link below to the original poster. She has some amazing food on her blog and the pictures are gorgeous.)

Ingredients

1 package puff pastry, 2 pastry sheets thawed

1 Cup Nutella spread

1 Cup mini marshmallows

Egg white wash: 1 egg white whisked with 1 Tablespoon water

Powdered sugar for dusting

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Cut each square of pastry into 4 equal size pieces (I trimmed mine just a little). Spread a couple tablespoons of Nutella spread onto the center of each pastry leaving 1/2 inch border around edges.

Top each with about 12-15 mini marshmallows and fold over to form a little triangle. Crimp edges firmly with the tines of a fork. Brush with egg white wash then sprinkle with granulated sugar.

Bake for 22-25 minutes or until pastry just turns golden. Remove and let cool for 5 minutes, sprinkle with powdered sugar then dig in!

Makes: 8 pockets

From: Picky Palate

One comment

  1. I don’t know if I used too many marshmallows or if the dough wasnt warm enough…but mine kind of exploded. In the future I’ll warm up the dough closer to room temperature, use more Nutella and fewer marshmallows.

Leave a Reply

