Fried Egg Sandwiches

One last recipe for today. I’m a total fan of eggs. I can eat and have eaten eggs for every meal of the day. I just don’t do it every day. This recipe really isn’t that unique or difficult. I’m sure we could figure it out. But I do think it offers inspiration as there is plenty of room to improvise with various ingredients…bacon comes to mind.   

I’ve also seen versions where the bread and cheese are cooked like a grilled cheese sandwich with a hole in the middle and the egg is fried in the hole.

Makes 4 sandwiches.

Ingredients:

8 Eggs

8 slices of Bread

4 slices of Colby Jack Cheese

Lawry’s Season Salt, to taste

Black Pepper, to taste

Butter (approx. 1 tablespoon)

Olive Oil (approx. 2 tablespoons)

Directions:

Toast bread and top 4 slices with cheese. Place the butter and olive oil in a large pan and heat over medium heat. When heated, crack the eggs a few at a time working in batches; season with Lawry’s Season Salt and black pepper. When the whites are opaque flip until the yolk is cooked as you like. Top the 4 remaining slices each with two fried eggs. Place the toast {with the cheese} on top of the egg and cut in half diagonally.

From: Simply Scratch

One comment

  1. I’m loving the new Food Press site. I’m finding some great food blogs. I’m with you. I can eat eggs for every meal. I’ve never made an egg sandwich on bread, I always use an English Muffin and mayonnaise. I’ll be trying your version soon.

Leave a Reply

