Kale Chips

My friend Andi from college told me about these “chips” she makes for her kids. They’re so popular with the kids she goes through bags of kale a week.  So I found this  recipe and then hunted down a bundle of kale.  

The recipe says 350 for 10 to 15 minutes. I read through the reviews of the recipe and did mine for 12-13 minutes at 340. They were way too salty. Mostly because I forgot that while I was dividing the kale bundle in half I forgot to divide the salt in half and split it between each pan.

Much to my surprise they came out crispy with a great texture. I think they would have hit just the right amount of potato chip saltiness had I remembered to dial it back a little with the salt. I’d like to omit the olive oil and salt and try soy sauce. It’s natural saltiness might add a really nice flavor.

I also lined the pan with parchment paper and then drizzled with 1-2 tablespoons of oil and then rolled the kale around in just that oil on the pan to coat the kale without over doing it.

I ate half a bundle of kale in about 6 minutes…I smell a healthy snack.

Ingredients

(6 servings)

1 bunch kale

1 tablespoon olive oil

a light sprinkling of seasoned salt or sea salt. (Updated from original. See below)

Directions

Preheat an oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Line a non-insulated cookie sheet with parchment paper.

With a knife or kitchen shears carefully remove the leaves from the thick stems and tear into bite size pieces. Wash and thoroughly dry kale with a salad spinner. Drizzle kale with olive oil and sprinkle with seasoning salt.

Bake until the edges brown but are not burnt, 10 to 15 minutes.

From: http://allrecipes.com//Recipe/baked-kale-chips/Detail.aspx

One comment

  1. I would definitely scale back the salt on this recipe to a pinch sprinkled above the pan. I have also talked to people who wait to salt the chips after they come out of the over.

Leave a Reply

