Pork Tenderloin with Roasted Garlic Vinaigrette

I like pork tenderloin and this recipe highlights an easy cooking technique. Sear the meat in the pan on the stove and then (if you have an oven safe pan) stick in the meat thermometer and finish it in the oven.  Plus if you don’t eat all of the tenderloin or feed it to all of your friends…it makes great leftovers.

Ingredients

1 pork tenderloin

1 head of roasted garlic (see below)

1/3 cup of olive oil or canola oil

1/4 cup of balsamic vinegar

1/2 tsp sugar

1 tbsp fresh parsley, chopped

1/2 tsp Dijon mustard

Sea salt and freshly cracked pepper, to taste

Roast the garlic. Squeeze the cooled roasted garlic out of the skin into a bowl. Add the olive oil, balsamic vinegar, sugar, parsley, Dijon, and sea salt and freshly cracked pepper, to taste. Mix well using an immersion blender until smooth. Set aside.

Remove the silver skin from the pork tenderloin then season the entire piece of meat with sea salt and freshly cracked pepper, to taste.

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees. Heat 1 tsp of olive oil in large oven proof skillet over medium-high heat. Once hot, add the pork tenderloin and cook until brown on all sides, turning occasionally, about 5-6 minutes. Place a meat thermometer into the thickest part of the tenderloin then place the skillet into the oven, and bake for 15 minutes or until meat thermometer registers 155-160 degrees (medium) or desired degree of doneness. Let stand for 5 minutes before slicing.

Drizzle the roasted garlic vinaigrette on top of the sliced pork and serve. Enjoy.

Roasted Garlic

1-2 heads of garlic

1/2 tsp olive oil

Dash of sea salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Slice the top of the head off so every clove of garlic is exposed. Place on a small square of tinfoil (easy clean up). Drizzle with olive oil and salt to taste.

Fold edges of tinfoil together and twist to make a completely sealed bundle.

Place in oven and bake for 30-40 minutes depending on the size of the garlic. Let cool before serving. Squeeze to remove the roasted cloves. Delicious!

From:  http://fortheloveofcooking-recipes.blogspot.com/2008/02/roasted-garlic.html

4 comments

  1. Joe Wagner · · Reply

    I made the vinaigrette today in preparation for the pork tonight. As I was out of dijon mustard, I used stone ground mustard and a splash or two of white wine. The sauce turned out really good!

    For the pork, I’ll grill instead of roasting it in the oven. I’ll rub it in olive oil and season it with rosemary, cracked pepper and chopped garlic. Grill over direct heat. IMHO, this is the best way to prepare pork tenderloin.

    Thanks for the great recipe. I hope you don’t mind me taking some “liberties” with it.

  2. Joe, thanks for the input. I always prefer to grill than fire up the oven. Makes it easier to cleanup and it doesn’t heat the house up on a summer day.

    BTW: How’d you find us?

  3. Joe Wagner · · Reply

    Plus it just tastes better on the grill as you get that smokey taste.

    The dinner was fantastic. The sauce was something that will definitely find a place in my kitchen. I think it would also make an excellent dressing on a spinach salad.

    I found your blog through your twitter feed.

  4. Twitter? Cool.

    I’ve been doing this for a few months and I’m hoping it takes off. More than anything I love having all of my favorite recipes on a website that I can access with my Blackberry. The WordPress site converts it into a really nice mobile site. So I never come home from the grocery store without all of the ingredients. Plus I can surf for food in my cookbook from my phone.

    And the kids are getting into it. I’ve had a few demands after a meal that a certain recipe be added to the blog.

    Enjoy the food and share your successes and failures.

Leave a Reply

