Steamed Pork and Shrimp Roll

The internet is like our old copies of World Book Encyclopedia. I remember trying to do a research paper and I’d grab the volume I  needed and then I’d start leafing through its pages. Sixty minutes and several articles later I finally got to what I was looking for. I stumbled upon this recipe in a similar manner. I was looking for a photo of a shrimp. Google took me to this blog and this recipe was posted on the same page. The photo is what drew me in. I haven’t made it yet but it seems easy enough. I might make it a few times before I plan to serve it when we have company coming over.  Or invite some people over to act as lab rats for my cooking.  

Ingredients

Egg wrapper:

2 eggs

1 Tbsp flour

1 Tbsp water

1/8 tsp salt

Pork Filling:

4 oz. ground pork

2 tsp soy sauce

2 tsp  rice wine

1/4 tsp freshly grated ginger (buy a ginger root at the grocery, shave part of  it with a potato peeler  & then chop)

Pinch of sugar

Shrimp Filling:

4 oz. ground shrimp (I used my food processor to grind it)

2 tsp soy sauce

2 tsp rice wine

1/2 tsp sesame oil

1/4 tsp freshly grated ginger

1 Tbsp corn starch

Dash of white pepper

1 – 2 sheets of nori–that green stuff around a sushi roll. You can buy it in big sheets at the Asian grocery.

Directions

In two separate bowls, mix the ingredients for the pork filling and shrimp filling. Set aside.

Stir the flour and water together making sure to mix out any lumps, then add the eggs and salt and beat together.

Heat a non-stick skillet (I used a 12 inch skillet) over medium heat and add 2 tsp of oil. Add the eggs and swirl the pan to coat the entire surface, forming a thin layer. Cook until the eggs have set.

Prepare your steamer and have the boiling water ready.

Transfer the egg sheet to a work surface. Cover the entire surface with a thin layer of ground pork. Try to spread it out as evenly as you can. Cover the ground pork with nori 1 or 2 sheets depending on the size of your nori sheets. Cover the nori with the ground shrimp mixture and again, spread it into a thin even layer. Then take one edge and roll the entire thing in a tight cylinder. Cut the cylinder in half if the entire length does not fit into your steamer.

Steam over medium high heat for 10 – 12 minutes. Cut into the roll to make sure the interior is fully cooked.

After steaming, the egg roll will release some liquid. You can thicken this liquid with a cornstarch slurry to make a simple sauce.

From: http://nookandpantry.blogspot.com/2008/03/steamed-pork-and-shrimp-roll.html

Leave a Reply

