Creamy Tomato Soup

So tonight I come home from work and sit down for supper. My wife was serving up bowls of this recipe. As I sat down to dinner the oldest–and possibly the first son to go to college–tells me, “Dad…this recipe better be in my college cookbook.”

Son…I noticed your mom makes this with some booze. I assume you’ll be at the liquor store for cooking purposes only…eh college boy?

My wife threw it together after trying a similar recipe at a downtown Iowa City restaurant.  She likes it without any salt. I think it needs some salt. So I added salt to taste at the end. I think if you added some salty croutons or parmesan cheese it might add some saltiness as well.  I hope the photo makes this look as appealing as it tastes. I couldn’t find the camera so I had to use my phone.

BTW: This is a rather filling bowl of soup. It also makes a great dip for a grilled cheese sandwich.

Ingredients

1 yellow onion, finely diced

3 Tbsp butter

3 Tbsp flour

1 Tbsp minced garlic

2 tsp dried basil

2 14.5 oz cans diced tomatoes

1 28 oz can tomato puree

1/4 cup water

1/2 cup white wine

1  14oz can chicken broth

1/2 cup heavy cream

8 oz. cream cheese

1/4 cup brandy

Tabasco, salt, and pepper to taste*

croutons, and pesto for garnishing–we use pesto from a jar. But feel free to make your own if the mood suits.

Heat butter in large stockpot.

Saute onion in butter till transparent. Sprinkle flour evenly over onions one tablespoon at a time, stirring each one thoroughly until paste forms. Add garlic, diced tomatos, spices and stir. Stir in tomato puree, chicken broth, heavy cream and wine slowly. When heated, add cream cheese by dollops and stir until melted. Add brandy and simmer on low for about an hour. Season to taste with Tabasco, salt, pepper.

Garnish each bowl with croutons and a drizzle of pesto sauce.

Leave a Reply

