Guacamole…and the Secret!

A few years ago I was cooking in the church kitchen with my friend Susan. She has lived around the country and around the world and learned how to cook many of the native foods. I remember Susan giving me a pile off stuff and telling me to chop or mash it all together for Guacamole. But I had to keep all of the pits from the avocados. For reasons that I still don’t understand keeping the pits in the guac when you’re done keeps it from turning some less than tasty-looking colors. Also don’t beat the snot out of the avocados when you mash them. I like my guac a little chunky. You could add a tomato. I don’t but my wife loves it with tomatoes.

This isn’t Susan’s recipe, but it is close. It comes from a cookbook my wife and I bought after a trip to Mexico.

FULL DISCLOSURE: I’m also posting it because I keep forgetting an ingredients when I get a craving for this while I’m at the grocery store. Now I can find it on my Blackberry in a hurry.

Ingredients

2 large ripe avocados

1/4 medium white onion, finely chopped

1/4 cup lightly packed chopped cilantro

1 tbsp fresh lime juice, more or less to taste

1/4 tsp salt, to taste

Directions

Halve the avocados and remove the seeds. Use a spoon and scrape out the soft fleshy insides of the avocado.  Mash in a bowl with a fork. Add the remaining ingredients and mix well. Cover tightly.  Tastes good on tortilla chips and Fritos scoops. Then again everything tastes good on Scoops. After you make this you have about four hours before you start to lose freshness.

From: 1000 Mexican Recipes by Marge Poore

Leave a Reply

