Miso Soup

This is a great soup. Very simple and easy to make. I find my wife likes it better than the miso at Asian restaurants. At first I thought she was just being nice. Then I tasted it. Not too shabby. I don’t have a weblink for this recipe. I got it out of a coffee table cook book on the bargain table at Barnes and Noble. The book is called “Japanese” by Lulu Grimes.

Ingredients.

4 cups of water

2 tsp of dashi granules (back to the Asian grocer)

6 oz firm tofu drained and cut into cubes

4 shiitake mushrooms (I use the dried ones in a bag)

4 tbsp miso paste

2 scallions, chopped

Put the water in a pan with the dashi and bring to a boil. Add the tofu and mushrooms. I typically eyeball the mushrooms, reduce heat and let it simmer for three minutes.

Stir in the miso paste and let it simmer gently, until it has dissolved. It takes a little time to dissolve. So make sure it has before you serve it or else people will get big chunks of the paste in their bowls.

Add the scallions and serve immediately. If you let the soup sit the miso will settle. Just give it a quick stir before you serve it.

Serves 4-5

Leave a Reply

